A New Web Scam – alert!


This is important since internet scams are becoming more and more common with our use of the internet.

I’m not sure how new the scam itself is, but this incarnation seems to have begun in mid-July or August . A person presenting himself as Evan Hubert leaves a comment on your site saying that he is an advertising agent for Lacoste. Here is the first part of the comment:


Submitted on: 2011/08/11 at 1:48 am
Author : Evan Hubert (IP: , vps19360.ovh.net)


Sorry I write you via comments. But I could not find contact e-mail or feedback form on your site.

My name is Evan Hubert and I represent Gelbert Agency. We are making an advertising campaign for Lacoste Company (it is a French company producing clothes, footwear, perfumery etc.) and we would like to place their banner at your site We are interested in banners of the following sizes: 160×600, 240×400, 300×250, 336×280, 468×60, 728×90. What can be your price for one banner (banner should appear at ALL pages of your site) of abovementioned sizes (please specify the place for the banner – top, bottom, left, right)? Please mention a normal link for banner, without javascript code and set prices in US dollars per month.

P.S. Please, delete this comment.

My first thought was this is great!  Someone wanted to pay me money to place their advertisement on my blog.  I thought this was too good to be true.

I was curious why the poster said he couldn’t find my contact form or feedback, Then he at the end of his comment he added to delete his remarks at the end of his reply.

Went to the Google search engine that I have on my favorites tab, and enrolled in the first sentence comments of Mr. Evan Hubert, and in responsegot a great list of posts that had exactly the same text.
Then I discovered that another such message circulating the Internet, only with a different name, Martin Dumont.

Martin Dumont « Keep Safe On The Net

when I read the information on this link, I decided to write this post, and thus drawthe attention of everyone on this scam.

 I was told to visit a given web address and download a .zip file – which Mr Dumont tells me is a plug-in for my WordPress site.  I dread to imagine what would happen to my computer and/or my site if I unzip and install the plug-in, but I have no intention of finding out!  Neither should you.  I’m fairly certain the zip file will infect your computer and/or your site with less than desirable spyware and adware.


One thought on “A New Web Scam – alert!

  1. Great blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays.
    I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *